How Drugs and Alcohol Saved My Life

Recover Integrity
1 min readOct 8, 2018

“If I had not used drugs and alcohol I would have killed myself.” I’ve heard that many times in AA meetings.

In some ways, that medicine works for some people. It helps some actually find a way to feel good in life and connect with others.

It becomes an issue when it grows into a full-blown addiction and it doesn’t work anymore. So, addiction can work as a medicine for only a period of time.

It can also create social bonds and things like that. I think most people have a period in their life when they look back on getting high and drinking as part of their story.

For some people, they were the best times of their life. “When I went to college, I experimented with drugs.”

We must acknowledge as a society that there’s a piece of that that’s beautiful, but that beauty can’t last in addiction specifically.

Schedule a free consultation with Recovery Integrity to see if counseling is right for you.

--

--

Recover Integrity

Recover Integrity is a values-based addiction treatment program: we treat our clients and their families with dignity, respect and compassion.